Council’s primary role is to ensure that the interests of the public are protected and maintained.

Council is the policy-making group and board of directors for the College. The College’s administrative staff are responsible for carrying out these policies and administering the Regulated Health Professions Act, the Pharmacy Act and the Drug and Pharmacies Regulation Act and associated regulations.

All Council meetings are open to the public with regularly scheduled meetings four times per year in September, December, March and June. Its activities are subject to review by the Health Professions Appeal and Review Board, the Health Professions Regulatory Advisory Council and the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care.The Minister can advise or make certain requests of Council regarding the regulatory authorities of the College. Council makes regulations – subject to government approval – under the Regulated Health Professions Act and the Drug and Pharmacies Regulation Act.

Council elects a President and Vice-President from among its members and hires a Registrar who is the Chief Executive Officer of the College. The Registrar oversees the day-to-day work and administrative staff of the College.

Every member of the College who is a resident of Ontario and has paid the annual fee is qualified to vote in Council elections. Elections are held each August for one-third of the electoral districts.


District H (Hospitals)
Nadia Facca Nadia Facca

Regis Vaillancourt Regis Vaillancourt
(Past President)

District K
Esmail Merani Esmail Merani Tracey Phillips Tracey Phillips

District L
Billy Cheung Billy Cheung James Morrison James Morrison
Sony Poulose Sony Poulose

District M
Mike Hannalah Mike Hannalah Kyro Maseh Kyro Maseh
Laura Weyland Laura Weyland

District N
Tom Kontio Tom Kontio Karen Riley Karen Riley
Leigh Smith Leigh Smith

District P
Rachelle Rocha Rachelle Rocha Douglas Stewart Douglas Stewart

District T District TH
Ruth-Ann Plaxton Ruth-Ann Plaxton Goran Petrovic Goran Petrovic

Public Members
Kathy Al-Zand Kathy Al-Zand David Breukelman
Christine Henderson Christine Henderson Azeem Khan Azeem Khan
Elnora Magboo Elnora Magboo
Sylvia Moustacalis Sylvia Moustacalis
Joan A Pajunen Joan A Pajunen Joy Sommerfreund Joy Sommerfreund
Dan Stapleton Dan Stapleton Gene Szabo Gene Szabo

Faculty of Pharmacy
University of Toronto:
Lisa Dolovich,
Interim Dean
University of Waterloo:
David Edwards David Edwards